Tourist Visa in the Philippines

Before planning a trip to the Philippines, do you know what documents do you need when traveling to the Philippines? What are visa and passport requirements for the Philippines?


Documents for traveling to the Philippines

What documents do I need when traveling to the Philippines? Just like traveling to other countries, a passport with a valid period of 6 months and a valid tourist visa are necessary documents for traveling to the Philippines.


A Philippine tourist visa is a visa for all foreigners who hold a private passport to visit the Philippines for recreational purposes such as travel, vacation, shopping, etc.





The Philippines visa types

At present, the most commonly used visa types in the Philippines are visa-exempt, tourist visa and visa on arrival.





Visa Exemption

In principle, visa-free entry to the Philippines is granted to nationals of countries that maintain diplomatic relations with the Philippines, as well as countries whose nationals are not subject to restriction by the DFA. Eligible nationals admitted without a visa are required to hold a passport valid for at least six months longer than the expected duration of stay.


On July 1, 2013, in order to promote the development of tourism, the Philippine Immigration Bureau began to implement a 30-day visa-free policy. Foreigners who are granted visa exemption can extend their stay for two months at a time, but the maximum stay cannot exceed two years.


At present, the Philippine grants visa-free treatment to residents of more than 100 countries and territories. Different visa-free countries have different periods of stay, ranging from 14 days to 59 days.


People from the following countries and territories can visit the Philippine for up to 59 days with a visa-free entry.

Brazil, Israel


People who hold passport of the following countries and territories can travel to the Philippine for up to 30 days without a visa.

All European Union European Union citizens, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, DR Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Norway, Oman, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé and Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.


People who hold the passport of the following countries and territories can travel to the Philippine for up to 14 days without a visa.

Hong Kong, Macau, Portugal (for passports issued to permanent residents of Macau only)


Chinese citizens holding valid visas from Australia, Canada, Japan, the United States, and Schengen area state can visa-free enter and stay the Philippines for 7 days.


Indian nationals holding valid tourist, business or residence visas issued by Australia, Canada, Japan, Singapore, the United Kingdom, the United States or Schengen area state can visa-free enter the Philippines and stay for 14 days.


Tourist Visa

Holders of passports from the following countries and regions must go to the embassy or consulate to apply for a Philippine travel visa.

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Cuba, Egypt, Georgia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, Nigeria, North Korea, North Macedonia, Pakistan, Palestine, Sierra Leone, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Taiwan, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Ukraine, Yemen


The visa will be issued within 8-10 working days from the time it is submitted to the consulate. Tourist visa for the Philippine is generally valid for 90 days, with a maximum stay of 30 days.


Documents required to apply for a Philippine Tourist Visa:

  • Passport valid for more than 6 months.
  • One copy of the visa application form.
  • One 2-inch white background photo, which will be posted on the photo of the visa application form.
  • Letter of work unit written in English.
  • Confirmed round-trip air ticket (copy).


Visa Application Form


Visa on Arrival

Except for the visa-free countries and countries that must apply for a tourist visa at the embassy or consulate, passport holders issued by any other country can be issued a visa on arrival. The visa is valid for 59 days after arriving in the Philippines.


Recommended Tours

8 Days Classic Philippines Tour

Manila - El Nido - Puerto Princesa

9 Days Exploring North Philippines

Manila - Banaue - Sagada - Vigan