Singapore Culture & Custom

Singapore is a developed capitalist country, known as one of the "Four Little Dragons in Asia", which is also a multicultural immigration country. The history of Singapore can be traced back to the 3rd century, when aborigines were already living there. On August 9, 1965, Singapore separated from Malaysia and became a sovereign, democratic, and independent country. Singapore is a city-state country, dividing the country into five communities (administrative regions). Singapore citizens are mainly divided into 4 major ethnic groups: Chinese (74.2%), Malays (13.3%), Indians (9.1%) and Eurasian mixed-race (3.4%). Singapore is a multilingual country with 4 official languages, namely English, Malay, Chinese and Tamil. The official language of Singapore is English. 83% of Singaporeans have religious beliefs, mainly Buddhism, Taoism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and others. You can learn more about Singapore culture and custom here.